The importance of a well secured website

The importance of a well secured website

You may be the victim of a cyber attack... According to PlanetoscopeEvery day, 120,000 websites fall prey to hackers. Despite preconceptions, no one is spared. On 7 May 2021, the Colonial Pipeline was knocked out of service for a week by a ransomware. A month earlier, the Centre national de l'enseignement à distance (CNED) suffered a similar setback.

And if you think that only big companies are affected, think again. Since 95 % of SME websites are poorly (or not at all) protected, hackers are having a field day (source: lemondeinformatique.fr). No one is immune. Now more than ever, it is essential to have a secure website.

Why secure your website?

This advice applies to all digital platforms. Even bloggers and website owners should actively seek out how to secure their websites. In fact, 80 percent of malfunctions are the result of security flaws. By investing in an SSL certificate or HTTPS transmission, you can avoid many worries. And that's not all...

Cyber securité

What are the most common computer attacks?

In addition to protecting you from malfunctions, deliberately chosen barriers will keep you out of certain problems. This is the case, for example, with disfigurement, a cyber attack whose intention is to make the portal owner lose face. Very often this is part of a political struggle, a vendetta or a desire for recognition of the hacker. It should be noted that this is not the only threat that hangs over insecure sites.

One of the worst things that can happen to your visitors is to be misled by a hacker. Thinking they are looking at a secure websiteThey fill in forms or transmit their bank details. Except that... unfortunately... the hub has fallen victim to a pernicious installation of illegal software.

Are you beginning to realise the importance of having a secure website ? According to a report on here.canada-radio.caIn 2018, the cyber attacks have resulted in the loss of USD 45 billion. Who knows how much more?

What do you risk as a result of a cyber attack?

It is not by chance that more and more people are looking for "how to secure your website"on Google. In addition to the financial risks mentioned above, the threat is real.

Indeed, the lack of protection can lead to disastrous situations. These include:

  • unavailability of the site: due to a cyber attackyour website may be inaccessible. Imagine the disappointment of your visitors and the potential financial losses;
  • Damage to your brand image: once a customer's trust has been lost, it is very difficult to regain it. For example, if a customer has been phished for data on your site or has read insulting remarks, it is not certain that they will return;
  • endangering your visitors: by pretending to be you, a hacker can push a third party to reveal themselves before blackmailing them. Even if you are not the mastermind of this crime, don't be surprised if you suffer some repercussions as a result of this cyber attack ;
  • Loss of critical information: in the business world, nothing beats intellectual property. By infiltrating a portal, a hacker can take your work and sell it to your competitors or make it public.
Image site securise
Secure site image

How to secure your website?

At this stage, the need for a secure website is no longer up for debate. All that remains is to point out a few tricks to protect your web portal from hackers.

The first thing to do is to install an SSL certificate. In fact, a secure website is a portal that is only accessible via HTTPS. Today, all hosting companies offer the configuration of an SSL certificate. Without going into the technical details, remember that it is thanks to it that your visitors' information is protected from computer attacks.

For those who are looking for how to secure your websiteThe hardware and software architecture must also be considered. It is by reading the XML sitemap that the software will be able to intrude into your private space.

Similarly, experts recommend that you use a specialised hosting provider, as these are often better protected. If possible, activate the automatic update of your plug-ins to prevent them from becoming obsolete and therefore vulnerable. At the same time, programme automatic backups so that you are not caught off guard in the event of a malfunction.

And because a secure website also implies having good reflexes, correct your password. Don't give in to the temptation of "12345" or "password". With such a simple key, hackers will have no difficulty in perpetrating a cyber attack on your digital portal.

We specialise in web design and security. You need advice or configuration to secure your website? We can help! 

en_GB

L’importance d’un site internet bien sécurisé

L’importance d’un site internet bien sécurisé

Il se peut que vous soyez en train d’être victime d’une cyber attaque… Selon Planetoscope, chaque jour, 120 000 sites web sont la proie de pirates informatiques. En dépit des préjugés, nul n’est épargné. Le 7 mai 2021, le Colonial Pipeline a été mis hors service pendant une semaine à cause d’une attaque de type ransomware. Un mois plus tôt, c’est le Centre national de l’enseignement à distance (CNED) qui essuyait un revers similaire.

Et si vous pensez que seules les grosses compagnies sont concernées, détrompez-vous. Étant donné que 95 % des sites internet de PME sont mal (ou non) protégés, les hackers s’en donnent à cœur joie (source : lemondeinformatique.fr). Personne n’est à l’abri. Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, il est essentiel d’avoir un site internet sécurisé.

Pourquoi sécuriser votre site internet ?

Petite précision… Ce conseil s’applique à toutes les plateformes digitales. Même les titulaires de blogs ou de sites vitrines devraient activement rechercher comment sécuriser leurs sites internet. En effet, 80 % des dysfonctionnements résultent de failles sécuritaires. En investissant dans un certificat SSL ou une transmission HTTPS, vous évitez bien des soucis. Et ce n’est pas tout…

Cyber securité

Quelles sont les attaques les plus courantes en informatique ?

En plus de vous protéger des dysfonctionnements, des barrières sciemment choisies vous tiendront à l’écart de certains problèmes. C’est par exemple le cas de la défiguration, une cyber attaque dont l’intention est de faire perdre la face au propriétaire du portail. Très souvent, c’est une action qui s’inscrit dans une lutte politique, une vendetta ou un désir de reconnaissance du pirate informatique. À noter que ce n’est pas la seule menace qui plane au-dessus des sites non sécurisés.

L’une des pires choses qui puissent arriver à vos visiteurs, c’est d’être induit en erreur par un hacker. Croyant consulter un site internet sécurisé, ils remplissent des formulaires ou transmettent leurs coordonnées bancaires. Sauf que… malheureusement… le hub a été victime d’une installation pernicieuse de logiciels illicites.

Commencez-vous à prendre conscience de l’importance de posséder un site internet sécurisé ? À en croire un rapport paru sur ici.canada-radio.ca, en 2018, les cyber attaques ont engendré la perte de 45 milliards de dollars USD. Qui sait à combien s’élève désormais ce montant ?

Que risquez-vous suite à une cyber attaque ?

Ce n’est pas par hasard que de plus en plus personnes cherchent “comment sécuriser son site internet” sur Google. En plus des risques financiers mentionnés plus haut, la menace est réelle.

En effet, l’absence de protection peut aboutir à des situations désastreuses. On peut notamment citer :

  • l’indisponibilité du site : à cause d’une cyber attaque, votre site web peut être inaccessible. Imaginez un peu la déconvenue essuyée par vos visiteurs et surtout les potentielles pertes financières ;
  • l’altération de votre image de marque : une fois la confiance d’un client perdue, il est très difficile de la reconquérir. Ainsi, si ce dernier s’est fait hameçonner ses données sur votre site ou y a lu des propos injurieux, il n’est pas sûr qu’il revienne ;
  • la mise en danger de vos visiteurs : en se faisant passer pour vous, un pirate informatique peut pousser un tiers à se dévoiler avant de le faire chanter. Même si vous n’êtes pas le maître d’orchestre de ce crime, ne soyez pas surpris d’essuyer quelques répercussions à la suite de cette cyber attaque ;
  • la perte d’informations cruciales : dans le monde professionnel, rien ne vaut la propriété intellectuelle. En infiltrant un portail, un pirate informatique peut s’accaparer votre travail pour le revendre à vos concurrents ou le rendre public.
Image site securise
Image site securise

Comment sécuriser son site internet ?

À ce stade, la nécessité d’avoir un site internet sécurisé n’est plus sujette à débat. Ne reste plus qu’à mettre le doigt sur quelques astuces pour protéger votre portail web des hackers.

La première des choses à faire est d’installer un certificat SSL. De fait, un site internet sécurisé est un portail qui est uniquement accessible via un protocole HTTPS. Aujourd’hui, tous les hébergeurs proposent la configuration de certificat SSL. Sans rentrer dans les détails techniques, retenez que c’est grâce à lui que les informations de vos visiteurs sont protégées des attaques informatiques.

Pour celui qui recherche comment sécuriser son site internet, il faut aussi se pencher sur l’architecture matérielle et logicielle. C’est en lisant le sitemap XML que les logiciels pourront s’immiscer dans votre espace privé.

De même, les experts recommandent de confier son hébergement à un prestataire spécialisé, ces derniers étant souvent mieux protégés. Si possible, activez la mise à jour automatique de vos plug-ins afin d’empêcher qu’ils ne deviennent obsolètes et donc vulnérables. En parallèle, programmez des sauvegardes automatiques pour ne pas être pris au dépourvu en cas de dysfonctionnement.

Et parce qu’un site internet sécurisé implique aussi d’avoir de bons réflexes, corsez votre mot de passe. Ne cédez pas à la tentation de “12345” ou de “motdepasse”. Avec une clé aussi simple, les pirates n’auront pas de peine à perpétrer une cyber attaque d’envergure sur votre portail digital.

Nous sommes spécialisé dans la conception et sécurisation web. Vous avez besoin de conseils ou d’une configuration pour mettre en sécurité votre site internet ? Nous pouvons intervenir ! 

fr_FR